Ceremonial Dressings (part 1)

The schedule has been cleared. Our son, 7-year old Dustin, dispatched to his grandparents for the weekend. The X-Factor removed from the equation. But even with him out of the picture, Sylvie and I still can’t seem to get our act together.

“I’m sure they break free this morning,” I say with conviction.

“It’s the third day. That’s what I know,” Sylvie responds.

Each of us has conflicting information. With a place, purpose and stalled action, I start to pace. I abhor being late. Or worse, planning my entire weekend around attending the ceremony and potentially missing a critical moment. The reason for going in the first place. Finally confident her attire is appropriate, yet fashionable, she saunters behind me on her own time. I sigh yet another time.

Sylvie, unperturbed by my passive-aggressive behaviour, calls attention to my state of mind, “What’s that, your fiftieth sigh today?”

“Oh, does that mean you’re finally ready?”

“I’m allowing myself to let the moment make my actions for me.”
She’s feeling it. I’m not. She’s in the right state of mind before she gets to the grounds. I’m a hurry up and get there kind of guy.

She floats to the front seat. Calm. Serene. So Zen it’s almost irritating. With each mystic movement I can feel the grains in the hour glass slip away.

“We’re missing it!” I let my voice bellow in my head.

“Ready?” I finally say with a touch of sarcasm.

**                                                                                                                        **

“It’s not at the same place as the Pow Wow?” I blurt as se slow near Elsipogtog.

“No. It’s totally different from the Pow Wow,” Sylvie replied.

“Then I have no clue where it is.”

“You’d think there would be signs.”

“I hate being late. Because when you’re late then you get lost.”

“Jase, it’s a spiritual ceremony. Try not getting so worked up. So what if we miss it? So What?” her voice is strong. She doesn’t force her point. It isn’t necessary. I get her message. It’s starting to register.

“I’m sure we haven’t missed anything.”

Leave a Reply

